Eona: The Last Dragoneye by Alison Goodman Review

Eona: The Last Dragoneye

Date Pueonablished: April 19th 2011

Publisher: VIKING by Penguin Group

Length: 637 (hardcover)

Source: Borrowed

Summary:

Eon has been revealed as Eona, the first female Dragoneye in hundreds of years. Along with fellow rebels Ryko and Lady Dela, she is on the run from High Lord Sethon’s army. The renegades are on a quest for the black folio, stolen by the drug-riddled Dillon; they must also find Kygo, the young Pearl Emperor, who needs Eona’s power and the black folio if he is to wrest back his throne from the selfstyled “Emperor” Sethon. Through it all, Eona must come to terms with her new Dragoneye identity and power – and learn to bear the anguish of the ten dragons whose Dragoneyes were murdered. As they focus their power through her, she becomes a dangerous conduit for their plans. . . .

Eona, with its pulse-pounding drama and romance, its unforgettable fight scenes, and its surprises, is the conclusion to an epic story only Alison Goodman can create..

The Review:

(warning: there might be spoilers from the first book Eon)

Where do I start? I have to say, I loved this book way better than the previous one. In this book, Eon becomes Eona and they are in a race against time to defeat Sethon’s army so that the true Emperor can take the throne.

Unlike the previous book, the start wasn’t slow at all. There was something interesting happening throughout the whole book, and I found myself trying to read it as fast as possible so I can find out what happens next.

The characters in this book had changed immensely from what they were in the first book. Eona still frustrated me, but this time I understood where she was coming from. She had so many secrets to keep and she didn’t know what to do with them. Not only that, but Ryko and Dela were pressuring her in one way, to have Ido and Kygo tempting and pressuring her in other ways. I did though like that Eona took action in what she thought was right, but that doesn’t mean it actually was right. Trust and secrets were a big theme in this book, with everyone having secrets of some sort. Lord Ido again had a main part, but this time  I didn’t know what side he was on. We got to get to know more about him, and honestly, I loved reading about his character because you could never know what was going to happen with him. He also had a big influence on Eona’s decisions and plans most of which threatened her relationships with others.

There was another thing, there was romance in this book, in the form of a love triangle. I normally don’t like love triangles, and I usually do bank for one instead of the other. However, throughout this story I didn’t know who to bank for.

As I mentioned before, trust and secrets was probably the most predominant theme in the book. Most of the problems that arose were due to the secrets that some people did or didn’t know. As they became unraveled one by one, turmoil spread between the group of main characters. We learn more about Kinra and the dragons, as well as Eona’s powers which Eona has to decide what to do with. As a reader, even I felt the pressure that Eona had to go through and the influence from several characters. Alison Goodman’s writing was able to compel me to think one way, only to have another character change my mind. The book had a big buildup due to this, for what I think was a great ending.

The ending was great and was the perfect way to end this book. It was left kind of open, but was still able to give closure. Overall, the plot, combined with Goodman’s compelling writing made the book a really gripping read. I didn’t like the romance as much, but that could be due to the characters involved. This story may have been told over two books, but it feels like one story, with this book picking up right where the last one left off. The ending was perfect and I’m glad that I got to read this duology on this truly unique world. It is unlike any other YA book I know and you should definitely give it a try. Plus the artwork on the cover is so beautiful – I would love to have this cover on my shelves rather than the Australian one if I were to buy it from here.

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

