Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! Thoughts…

I’m sorry guys, this is a late post, but I’ve been super busy this past week and a bit, between school, work and other commitments. I still have to post my review on the Raven Boys, as I’ve finished that, and I also finished the Unexpected Everything…so keep your eyes peeled.

Okay, so it’s the second of August when I’m writing this, which is 2 days after the release date, and I can happily say that I was able to buy this on the 31st in store! However, it wasn’t a bookstore, it was actually Big W (for those who live in Australia) as they had a one day offer of $15, and boy, how cheaper could they go…I obviously had to get it.

Originally though, I was doubting whether or not I should buy the Cursed Child. I knew though, that I definitely am not going to buy it full price, as I didn’t think I would enjoy it as much as the other Harry Potter books, the main reason being that it is only a script, and not a novel. This actually annoyed me so much, like if you are gonna give us Harry Potter, at least give us a full length novel, that can give us a the magic of the wizarding world that I grew up with (I started readng this in Grade 3). I feel as if the script itself wouldn’t have the same charm, or feel as the previous seven books. Yes, I acknowledge that the play probably does have that, but guess what, I, and so many of you guys are not able to see the play, and experience that unique magic of the series through both the script and visual cues. I get that Rowling wanted a play – something different from normal. But can’t we at least have the quality of a full length novel that perhaps the play was based on, or even written after the play, as so many people are missing out on so much. Plus, does it annoy anyone that JK Rowling is called it the ‘eighth installment’ as to me, it feels more like a standalone novel, as it isn’t even really focused on Harry Potter, it’s more focused on Albus and his relationship with his father, and with all the time jumps (I know there is some) it just won’t be the same.

So, I looked it up on BookDepository, and saw that I could pre-order for a discount of $20 off its rrp of $45, and so I was still on the fence about it. But then, in all its glory, I saw a Big W catalogue advertising the book for $15 only for the day of the release date and I’m like, good book or not, I’m buying it. As I’ve mentioned in a previous post, hardcovers are so rare in Australia, and if you do find one, its like $40, plus the book is really pretty (I even attempted book photography this time, with my mismatched collection of Harry Potter books…ugh). Knowing that these things were gonna sell like hotcakes, I pretty much demanded (sorry mum) my mum to bring my there when the store opens to make sure I got a copy. Turns out I get there about an hour after it opens, and half of them were gone (so good judgement on my part) and there we have it, I got the book.

This means I’m going to have a go at reading it. I’m sad to say I have a bit of low expectations, especially since a lot of people say that it reads like a fanfic, and doesn’t feel like JK Rowling. I do however am excited to see the next generation of Potters and even the Malfoys! However, I will post a review (once I get to my other ones first though…sorry!) and let you guys know my thoughts.

Hope you are having a good day! (it’s actually like 10:30 at night for me so…)

Leave a Reply

