The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson Review

The Unexpected Everything

Date Published: May 3rd 2016

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Length: 517 (hardcover)

Source: Borrowed

Summary: 

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

My Review:

I loved loved loved this book. I am currently in winter, not summer, and I can say that this is the perfect summer read. It’s just filled with buttery mellowness and puppies (literally), like when you go outside and it’s the perfect temperature with the sun warming your back. Long story short, I really enjoyed reading it, and I think you should read it too.

However, do not read this if you don’t like simple buttery stories with a cliche or two, because this is exactly what the book is. I recommend this especially for those trying to get out of a book slump, or just read a huge read and would like something simpler and shorter (a bit) to read. On that note, for a contemporary book like this, it is quite long, but it didn’t feel that way, I read it rather quickly (I would have finished it sooner if I wasn’t busy).

Some things I really liked about this book was that a) no love triangles b) actual strong female friendships and c) puppies! It’s nice to read something without a love triangle, because I swear 8/10 books have one and I am really tiring of them. Like can an author actually be original for once, and spice up the story without a flipping love triangle? I’m glad to say that this book did that quite nicely, and I didn’t have to barrack for a guy like people do to a footy team. Love triangles are stupid really. How often do people have them in real life anyway? *sigh*

On the female friendships side of things, it was again really refreshing to have a close tight-knit group of friends that stayed strong for the story, instead of that one female friend that’s only a friend when it’s convenient for the plot or main character. The main character – Andie – didn’t do that annoying devotion to her love interest thing where she ignores her friends. I just loved the characters in general, they weren’t stereotypes, and were developed quite nicely – I have to say though, if they weren’t that’d be a waste of 500 pages. They all have distinct personalities, and it’s not just girls either, it’s a good mix between both boys and girls.

I also love the amount of dogs in this book! I’m not going to go into depth about this, but I just love dogs and pets in general and there was an abundance of them in this book. I also love how half the characters are pretty much bookworms, and there was this one text conversation which perfectly describes the nights in the life of a bookworm (not going to go into more). I also like how parents are not absent from the story, but the story also focuses on Andie’s relationship with her dad, and how they cope with the new changes in their lives.

The ending was quite nice too. It was a little bit open, but not too open in the sense that loose ends weren’t tied up and you don’t know why they ended it there. It’s an open ending that gives closure, I don’t know how to describe it, but it didn’t leave me hanging, and just, fit the story.

I just love this book so much, it’s a favourite in terms of contemporaries, but maybe not on my all time list (most of them are fantasies…). It’s a great read to read in the summer, or any season really (like I said, it’s winter for me) and a cliche book that isn’t annoying to read. It’s a book that concentrates on friendships, and romance, with a nice balance between the two. If you haven’t read it, I definitely recommend you pick it up! You won’t be disappointed.

I rate it 4.5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson Review

Leave a Reply

