The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater Review

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2

Date Published: September 13th 2013

Publisher: Scholastic Press

Length: 437 (hardcover)

Source: Borrowed

Summary: 

If you could steal things from dreams, what would you take?

Ronan Lynch has secrets. Some he keeps from others. Some he keeps from himself.

One secret: Ronan can bring things out of his dreams.

And sometimes he’s not the only one who wants those things.

Ronan is one of the raven boys—a group of friends, practically brothers, searching for a dead king named Glendower, who they think is hidden somewhere in the hills by their elite private school, Aglionby Academy. The path to Glendower has long lived as an undercurrent beneath town. But now, like Ronan’s secrets, it is beginning to rise to the surface—changing everything in its wake.

Of The Raven Boys, Entertainment Weekly wrote, “Maggie Stiefvater’s can’t-put-it-down paranormal adventure will leave you clamoring for book two.” Now the second book is here, with the same wild imagination, dark romance, and heart-stopping twists that only Maggie Stiefvater can conjure.

My Review:

Hmmm…I have very mixed feelings about this book. Like the previous book, The Raven Boys it had a very slow start. Actually, scratch that, it was like slow for most of the book – at least for me. There are a couple reasons why I kept reading, I do want to complete the series eventually, and DNFing this book will just put a burden on me. Plus, I wanted to find out about this mysterious Ronan Lynch. I wouldn’t go so far to say he’s my favourite out of the group (I don’t think I have one, I like them all for different reasons), but he certainly is the most intriguing.

That said, for the last 150 pages or so, I really enjoyed it, as stuff was actually happening, and getting really interesting. I actually quite liked the character of the Gray Man, and I think I have a soft spot for him. I don’t like Kavinsky, but he did spice things up a bit, which is probably the reason why there is actually some action in the latter half of the book. The main group – Blue, Gansey, Adam, Noah and of course Ronan felt a bit off in this book. They were very distant, and Noah was absent for most of the book – I know the reason why, but it’s annoying how we finally got him back, and then he’s not there again. There weren’t really any good friendship moments like there was in the Raven Boys either, instead there was barely friendship at all, which kind of annoyed me.

I know this book is supposed to focus on Ronan, but I think there was too much of a focus on him. I barely saw the others, and when I did, I didn’t really want to read about what they’re doing. Blue was kind of just there, and she just didn’t really fit in. The feel of the story, just didn’t feel the same as the Raven Boys, if anyone gets what I mean, but that could be just me.

There were some good things though. The mystery of it all, with the Greywarren, ley lines and all – I love it. It’s a totally new concept, and I really like it. Maggie Stiefater’s writing, is like I said in the Raven Boys review, really beautiful, and serene to read. There were a couple jokes here and there, but I don’t think this series is one for that sort of stuff, so that was expected. I don’t dislike this book, but I don’t love it either, probably around average in my ‘likeable’ scale.

I didn’t like this book as much as the Raven Boys, but if you are into mystery, or like the character Ronan Lynch a lot, give it a try, or even really really enjoyed the Raven Boys. Like, I enjoyed the Raven Boys, but I am not a die hard fan like some other people – if you are though, then that’s great! For now, I’m going to take a break from this series, longer than the last, and one day, I’ll get back to it (I hope). I do want to read the next ones, as I feel they are probably 10x better than this one, but it just doesn’t appeal to me that much anymore, probably because I didn’t enjoy this as much.

Overall, I rate this 3/5 stars.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

