Hype or Like Friday – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling + others Review

For Hype or Like Friday this week, it’s finally time to give you guys my review of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! It was created by three fellow book bloggers, Jillian, Larkin and Britt in which they choose a particular book to focus on for the month, with weekly discussions and a review of the book at the end. You can check the group out here.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Harry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_CoverDate Published: July 31st 2016

Publisher: Little Brown UK

Length: 343 (hardcover)

Source: Bought

Summary:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

My Review:

I really don’t know what to say…THIS WAS PRETTY GOOD 😀 (for a play)

Reading this book, I didn’t have very high expectations, if you read my last post, you know what I’m talking about. I knew that it wouldn’t necessarily feel like the previous installments, and how there would be a lot left out because it’s a script not a novel. Despite this, I really enjoyed it, and it was able to bring emotions out of me – I don’t have a heart of stone, but I’m not a crier either.

The best thing about this book would probably be the relationship between Albus and Scorpius. I loved them as friends! I know a lot of people ship them together, and I probably would too, if they were a bit older. Keep in mind they are only 14, and if they gay, or bi, or anything else, they would probably only be questioning it, and probably wouldn’t bring it up. I also loved seeing Harry, Ron and Hermione again. I experienced a bit of nostalgia to be honest, reading about these forever beloved characters again – I really need to reread the books… And was it just me, or did anyone like Draco in this book. I personally developed a bit of a soft spot for him…I would say why, but I think that would be a bit spoilery.

For a script, the writing was pretty good. It flowed easily, and I could imagine it on stage pretty well. There were several time jumps, which kind of surprised me, but then I imagined them doing it on stage, and I realised that it did fit. The characters were still recognizable, with obvious changes – but hey! It’s been twenty years since we last read about them. For those who haven’t read scripts before (I personally have only read Romeo and Juliet previously, for school) you need to keep in mind, that this needs to occur within a time span of about 3 hours. Which means the story is going to be rather fast paced when reading it, but watching the actors act it out on stage will completely change how it feels. Think of the play as three-dimensional. The script is only one dimension, the others include the acting, and the props and costumes. With the script, you only get one dimension, ad therefore you need to factor in the other two, and use your imagination to do so! There are many that have read this book, and couldn’t finish, or was disappointed in it. That was because they didn’t factor in that it is only a script! – dialogue.

However, there were flaws. The biggest one – is probably the plot. It’s kind of like a badly written fanfiction where the author has thought of the end point, and the start point, but hasn’t really thought of what was in-between. Where something happens that doesn’t really make sense, only to have a random explanation to clarify. That’s a pretty bad explanation, but long story short, the plot was all over the place and things were a bit far-fetched. It also didn’t feel like the type of plots in previous Harry Potter books. Calling this an ‘eighth installment’ is a pretty long shot if you ask me, which was probably a marketing ploy if you ask me. I prefer to think of this almost like a novella, not necessarily essential, and just an extra bonus to spice up the series. It is definitely not an eighth installment in my eyes.

I also was surprised to see how much lacking it was of the wizarding world we have grown up with and loved. Many characters, including Teddy, Neville, Luna, George AND James, Lily and Hugo. Like at least with the previous former ones mentioned, I just wanted a simple check up to see how they are doing, like a small encounter, or just, something. But then, I didn’t even get to read about how James and Lily were doing, or Hugo. They were mentioned several times, especially James, and Hugo was mentioned like once. I was annoyed that I didn’t get to read about Albus’s relationship with his siblings more, or even Harry’s with his other children. I also know that Rose was included as a reappearing character, but honestly, she doesn’t make that much of an appearance. She was just there to  not be there, like it was like hey! we’re childhood bestfriends, and cousins, but not so much anymore. Plus, there wasn’t that much magic involved. The plot was mainly focused on the relationships between Albus, and several other characters, than the wizarding world itself, and that was pretty annoying considering it is a Harry Potter book. Don’t even get me started on timeturners…

Overall though, I enjoyed it for what it was worth. When reading this, you just need to keep in mind all that this is a script and not a novel and it is also set twenty years after the last Harry Potter book. People change. Judging this as a script to an actual play, and a separate book to the Harry Potter series, I would give this about a 4/5. However, seeing as they did say it was the ‘eighth installment’ to a bestseller, world renown series, I’d give it about a 3/5 as I was rather disappointed, not only by some of the content, but how Rowling decided to implement it all.

For whether it’s hyped or liked…it’s

Use this when liking a book on the list.

And, I rate it 3.5/5 stars

Also, please keeps comments spoiler free on this review, I will be posting a discussion post shortly after this, where I will vent my spoilery annoyances and where you guys can too. 🙂

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hype or Like Friday – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling + others Review

  1. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Nice review! I’m glad you liked the book. When I decided to theme Hype or Like Friday around the new Harry Potter book, I was hoping it would be an enjoyable read for the group. I loved it, especially the relationship between Albus and Scorpius. 🙂

    Like

    • Zoe says:

      I know right! Albus and Scorpius are amazing. It was fun doing the discussions on the world of Harry Potter, loved revisiting the wizarding world. By the way, any news on what September is based on? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

