August Wrap Up

It’s the 31st of August – still can’t believe it, where has the year gone? and I’m deciding to do a monthly wrap up. I’m quite proud of the amount of books I’ve read this month, and I’d like a way to keep track of it all, as well as quickly highlight the good books and the bad.

Books that I finished reading: 

  • The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson (Aug 1)
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Aug 5)
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater (Aug 16)
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (Aug 18)
  • A Court of Mist and Fury (Aug 21)
  • Angelfall by Susan Ee (Aug 23)

Books that I received (bought, in the mail):

  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (I technically bought this on the 31st July, but I’m going to count it anyways)
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses
  • Illuminae (currently reading this, and it’s pretty awesome so far)

Thoughts: (click titles to go to the full review)

Image result for the unexpected everything

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

This was a fluffy light read that is very enjoyable. All about friendships, with some romance of course, and a lot of dogs. It’s the perfect book if you are in a reading slump, as it will make you remember why you loved reading. Plus it might encourage you to take dogs out walking for a summer job 😀

 

Image result for harry potter and the cursed childHarry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling + Others

This for those who don’t know, is a script of a play, and a very good one at that. It was really nice to revisit the wizarding world, and the characters that are part of it. Albus and Scorpius were amazing, but the plot could have done with a bit of work.

Image result for a court of thorns and roses A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

Guys, if there is any series that you need to pick up it would be this one. This book was really really good, and the reason I’m not saying it’s amazing is because the next one compared to this one, is the one that should be called AMAZING. It is a beauty and the beast retelling – and a good interpretation of it too. The world that it is set in is phenomenal and really well thought out. I did in fact read it in one day because it was so good (I was however sick from school, so that could explain it…).

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. MaaImage result for a court of mist and furys

Like I said before, this book was A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. The plot was really gripping and plot twists at every corner. Feyre is a well developed character that I loved to read about, and honestly, still in a bit of a book hangover from this. It does live up to the hype if you were wondering – so go check it out!

Image result for angelfall susan eeAngelfall by Susan Ee

This book was also really good. Because I know the symptoms of an upcoming book slump, I read this a few days after ACOMAF to make sure I don’t fall into one. It was fast paced and gripping, and I ended up reading this in about 2 days. The world is very different to what you’ll find in other books, but that’s what makes it good. Honestly though, because I read this so fast, I’m finding it hard to read the next as I’m a bit burned out. Hopefully Illuminae will fix that…

~~~

So there you have it guys, that’s what’s been going on during the month of August for me. I only got reviews up for the first two books I mentioned, but the rest are coming soon! Also guys, guess what…I won a giveaway for a signed ARC copy of Gemina from @bookflix-squad on tumblr! I’m really excited to read it, and that’s why I ordered Illuminae ASAP. So keep your eyes peeled for an upcoming review of that… (reminder, it comes out in October). I still can’t believe I won it – I never win giveaways!

That’s all from me for now, and I’m a bit busy lately, so there might not be as many posts as normal (I’m still aiming for about 2 a week). So…

Until next time 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

