A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Date Published: May 15th 2015

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Length: 416 (hardcover)

Source: Bought

Summary:

She stole a life. Now she must pay with her heart.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

My Review:

First things first…I LOVE THIS SERIES ITS AMAZING AND I’VE ALREADY READ THE SECOND BY THE TIME I’M WRITING THIS…

Okay, now that’s out of the way, I’ll get on to the…sensible, rational thoughts.

Going into this series, I honestly did have very high expectations for this. I have already read the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas and I loved loved loved it. Plus, on tumblr, the amount of posts on how amazing the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury is, and I wanted to read the book before I get spoiled (it gets progressively harder to avoid spoilers as you go on with your life, ya know?).

Unlike Throne of Glass, this book is told in a 1st person point of view – Feyre’s. That means that if Feyre doesn’t see it, we don’t see it. So, for about 70% of the book is spent with Feyre trying to work out this new world that she lives in. We do get decent world building, and honestly, not much action. The plot is mostly driven by romance, and don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t boring (the smut scenes are pretty intense if you know what I mean ;D). Then we get to the last few chapters of the book, and while it may not look like much, there is actually so much action that fits in those few chapters, and it’s surprisingly not rushed! Obviously, this was my favourite part of the book, and we also get some light on the lingering sub-plot of the entire book.

That brings me to the characters. I really liked Lucien and Alis, was that just me? Lucien is honestly a cinnamon role, that is too good for his own good. I also really liked Alis, she is just too kind…but then there is Tamlin. I don’t know why…actually I do know why, but I didn’t know why at the time, why I didn’t really like him, or rather, there was just something about him that didn’t sit well with me. He just doesn’t fit with Feyre in my opinion. I also like Feyre’s sisters, even though they can be annoying, even Nesta. I just feel like deep deep deep down, Nesta has a heart of gold.

I mentioned the world building before, but I didn’t mention that I really really liked the world building. I don’t know about you guys, but I haven’t read that many fae/faerie/fairy books, but the world this book takes place in is phenomenal. Like, this is me when reading:

Image result for lucy narnia gif

I love the concepts of all the different courts, and the different types of fae/faeries, such as the Suriel (I love them), High Fae, and others that are introduced in the next book..Due to the big subplot, you also get to learn about some of the history of this world, which I love reading about. Also, this book has a map in it, which adds another point to my good book tally. Fun Fact: I’m a sucker for maps.

Overall, this is a great first book to the series, and it only gets better (the second one is even more amazing!). I legit read this book in one day, as I was sick from school and in my bed the whole time. It’s good that I was able to go to the library the next day though – if you’re reading this, make sure you have A Court of Mist and Fury handy as well, because it doesn’t end in a cliffhanger, and if you don’t read it right away, you might not feel inclined to read it, and in turn, you’ll MISS OUT ON ALL THE INCREDIBLE STUFF that happens. I. Am. Not. Kidding. The second one absolutely lives up to the hype.

*sheepish grin* oops, I probably should have left those comments for the review of the next book…oh well. But yeah, if you didn’t already know, this is a Beauty and the Beast retelling, and I think it does an amazing job of doing that without it being identical to the plot of that – certainly has good plot twists. So, if you haven’t read it, what are you sitting here reading this still? GO AND GRAB IT!!!

Anyways guys, until next time…

 

P.S. I actually got like half my friends to read this, and I swear I’m building an army, it’s awesome. It’s good to read this with friends, so you have someone to fangirl with, and if your friends don’t like reading that much, I’m here to talk! (I even got some of my non-reading friends to read this…..mwahahahaha)

Leave a Reply

