A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas Review

A Court of Mist and Fury

Image result for a court of mist and furyDate Published: May 3rd 2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Length: 640 (hardcover)

Source: Borrowed

Summary:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

My Review:

If you’ve read the review for A Court of Thorns and Roses, then you’d already know that I am a ‘little’ obsessed with this series, and more specifically, this book. If you haven’t read my previous review, then what are you doing here?! (hint: there will most probably be spoilers from the first book, so I highly recommend you read the review for the first, and then read the book before you read this). Go over there and read my review (or you could just cut to the chase and read the book) and read the book *shoves book in your face.*

ANYWAYS, now that that disclaimer is out of the way, let’s get into my thoughts. Going into this book, like the first one, I knew there was so much hype, and since the first one actually did live up to the hype, I was really excited to read this. A Court of Thorns and Roses did not end on a cliffhanger, and if any, could have been a book on it’s own (almost). So I was a bit curious as to how Sarah J Maas would go about this.

First off, I love the character development that was present in this book. It’s very realistic in the sense that Feyre did go through a tough time in the previous one, and it would be totally unrealistic if she was all fine and dandy afterwards. Unlike the previous book, this one jumps headfirst into the plot, and I love it.

This book is significantly longer than the last, and honestly, I’m amazed on how well the plot is fit into those pages. It is very well paced, and there is always something happening. The plot took an entirely different direction to the last one, and you’d probably find yourself thinking about how much has changed for Feyre, and how awesome all these changes are.

The characters are also very well thought out, and I love every single one of them. Well, except Tamlin, and Ianthe – they can go die in a hole. Nuff said about them. Each character has different sides to them, and always keep things interesting. This book made me love Rhys even more than I did in the last book, because he is just amazing. I wish I could tell you more, but I’m not gonna tell you more, because you need to read the book to know what I mean. There are also several new characters introduced which I love as well, and without them, the story would probably be a bore.

There is not as much romance in this book, but there are friendships, and I’m really grateful that it’s the way it is. Romance I feel gets in the way of the reader getting to know and love the character, but the friendships in this book are what made me love all the characters so much. But, where there is romance, there is smut (*cough* chapter 55) and from the smut I’ve read (which is not nothing by the way – I can say thanks to wattpad for that) it’s pretty well written and does make you feel a bit steamy if ya know what I mean ;). I’m also happy that the romance isn’t all about the smut, which I think was just a bonus for all those *ahem* horny readers… Not to be offensive, but you know who you are ;D. The romance present also gave me all sorts of feels – the type that melts your heart into liquid gold that explodes gloriously because it’s just so….feely – like full of all the good types of feels…

PLUS, before you guys go, can I JUST ASFBASJHBFSABFASDKABRJEAAF OVER THE ENDING? (if you’ve read this, you’ll know what I mean). IT WAS JUST SO PERFECT AND SO NOT PERFECT AT THE SAME TIME…

But yeah, if you are wondering if you should read this book – then READ IT (I’m already making my army in real life with this series mwhaha). It was really amazing, and caused me a huge hangover which took a bit to get out of.

Obviously, I rate this 5/5 stars (actually more like 10/5 stars).

Image result for 5 out of 5 stars

Until next time..

 

Leave a Reply

