Books that made me want to read

Hi guys!

Long time no post….Sorry. It was my last week of the school term, and I had a lot of tests and stuff, but now I’m on holidays!! (means lots of time to write posts!

So for this week’s Hype or Like Friday, the theme is:

Books That Made Me Want To Read- Think about what books you read while you were in school that made you want to read. Maybe you were an English Lit major in college because you fell in love with Shakespeare or Jane Austen.

For a refresher, this is a group hosted on Goodreads (link here) hosted by Jillian, Larkin and Britt where we post discussion posts every Friday based on the theme for the month. We also all read a book which we do a review on.

I have several books that I’m going to list, the first being The Adventures of the Wishing Chair by Enid Blyton. When I was only in Year One (aged about 6-7) my teacher would sit us all down like a couple times a week and read us a story about the wishing chair. Image result for the adventures of the wishing chair
I loved listening to these stories, and can definitely say that this was part of the reason why I loved reading so much.

Fast forward a few years, and during library sessions, the librarian would read us part of a Geronimo Stilton book. Now if you know about those, you know that they are so fun to read because the words are colourful, and there are plenty of illustrations and the storylines were very interesting. It only made me want to borrow more and more of them so I could read every single one!

Image result for geronimo stilton books

Then in Year 6 (about 11 years old now), my teacher had this bookshelf in her classroom with a bunch of Goosebump books and many others (about half were Goosebumps). I actually didn’t like Goosebumps, so I read basically everything else on that shelf – including almost every single Roald Dahl books. I absolutely loved these, and the next year we actually focused a unit on his autobiography, which I also found really interesting.

Near the end of the year, when I had basically run out of books on that shelf, my teacher bought a boxed set of Percy Jackson….I guess you can say I’m still obsessed…no need to say more. 😀

Image result for roald dahl books

In high school, well I don’t really like many of the books they make us read. I am still in high school (high school here is years 7-12) and about to read Lord of the Flies which I am actually pretty interested in. I have read a bit of Shakespeare and honestly I didn’t really like it…I don’t really think Classics are my thing, but I have an open mind!

I have to admit something though, I don’t see myself ever being a Lit major or something, I actually quite dislike English….but that could just be because of the books my school makes us read. It’s quite weird that I love reading and dislike English, but oh well.

So these are the books that I think had a big impact on my love for reading! I think that’s about all for now. I’ll be posting in about a couple of days, with a review.

Until next time…

P.S. I’m currently waiting for Empire of Storms in the mail and the wait is torture. It’s Friday night for me when I’m writing this, and mail doesn’t come on the weekends…hope it comes Monday…

4 thoughts on “Books that made me want to read

Leave a Reply

