Angelfall by Susan Ee Review

Angelfall

Image result for angelfallDate Published: May 21 2011

Publisher: Feral Dream

Length: 284 (paperback)

Source: Borrowed

Summary:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.

My Review:

Disclaimer: I read this book while in a hangover from ACOMAF. I also read this in one day.

Let’s just say this book was intense, and leaves you with quite mixed feelings afterwards (or maybe that was just me). This book was a mix between apocalypse and supernatural, which was quite a weird mix, but I did enjoy this book overall, so I guess the author did a good job.

The main character Penryn, has a very driven personality, and will stop at nothing to find her sister. Which, is pretty similar to most main book characters. Sometimes it was frustrating reading about her, but mostly not. I like the fact that she actually knows martial arts/fighting and what not, which is pretty badass if you ask me.

The other characters however, are very different to other supporting characters you’d find in other books. She’s stuck with a wingless angel that doesn’t really want to be there and she’s shadowed by her weird mother that is there, but not there. The relationship between them is pretty platonic, and there is very very little suggestion that they will ever be romantically involved, and with the way it is going, I don’t know if they are going to be (there are reasons for this, you see). I kind of liked the twins, but I still don’t know that much about them, and also Raffe’s friend – which you’ll meet later in the book.

The whole time, there is this hidden plot that is present, but you don’t find out about it till the end and it hits you in a gradual way, till you’re thinking, ‘wait, what?’ The ending comes out of nowhere and leaves you feeling a bit peculiar and odd in a way. I personally don’t like the ending – it was a bit too weird to me, and probably why I’m finding it hard to read the next one.

That said, the rest of the book is pretty good, and leaves you on the edge of your seat, because you honestly won’t know what’s going to happen next – which is part of the reason I read it in one day – I couldn’t stop.

I will push on to through the next one (eventually) because I am curious to find out what happens next.

I rate this 3.5/5 stars.

Image result for 3.5 out of 5 stars

2 thoughts on “Angelfall by Susan Ee Review

Leave a Reply

