Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas Review

Empire of Storms

Image result for empire of storms coverDate Published: September 6th 2016

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Length: 693 (hardcover)

Source: Bought

Summary:

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Disclaimer: This is the 5th book in the Throne of Glass series, and therefore will probably have spoilers to the previous books.

My Review:

This book adds to my ever growing admiration for Sarah J Maas as an author. This book was phenomenal and destroyed my soul at the same time.

Despite the length, I sped through it in a few days because I simply could not put it down. Like one time, I got through about half the book in one sitting…. It is told from multiple point of views, including those that we haven’t seen before. That’s another thing, I absolutely love love love all the characters that Sarah J Maas has created, because none of them are boring, insignificant, or character’s that are only thrown in there because of some unsaid rule. My favourite would have to be either Manon or Lysandra (can’t pick between the two) and Dorian comes as a close second.

I love Aelin too, don’t get me wrong, but I did feel a bit distanced from her in this book, which could be from the many POVs. She was pretty sassy at times, and I loved loved it, (I personally really like sassy characters, but that’s just me). I also do ship #rowaelin and I have since the #chaolena ship sunk (I also did in fact ship #chaolena until it, well, sunk). However, Aelin

That leads me to the several ships in the book. If you did not get a new ship by the end of the book, I don’t know what’s wrong with you. (just kidding, there’s nothing wrong with any of you guys <3). I do ship them all really. A lot of people might be annoyed how pretty much everyone is getting paired off, but I think it’s fine. When you are stuck with people through times that are life or death, you bond strongly with them, and if they’re the gender you’re attracted to, then you’ll most likely form romantic relationships with them. Plus, all their personality’s go together so perfectly, and all I’m gonna say is, a certain cinnamon roll turns into a sinnamon roll…

Another thing I have to say is, Manon’s character development is amazing. She was badass, but she just became more badass if that’s even possible. Same with Lysandra, with her shape-shifting abilities and relationship with Aelin – anyone would be jealous of the friendship they hold. This is probably why they became my favourite characters.

The action in this book is great, with the battle scenes done really well. You can really see how SJM’s writing has improved throughout the years. The ending was perfect – it destroyed me and left me speechless, but was perfect and would not have ended it any other way.

I really really loved this book, and it’s on par with ACOMAF on how great it is.

I rate it 5/5 stars.

P.S. I know you I said I’d probably write quite a bit due to it being holidays for me (over at the end of the week…..nooo) and I know I haven’t lived up to that, I apologise…been binge watching Arrow and the Flash and basically all those series from the CW so I can watch them when they come out next week! Anyone else love superhero tv shows, or movies (including Agents of Shield – by the way, I’m team Marvel). because I’m kinda obsessed to be honest.. If you don’t, well you should definitely go check them out. 😀

Also, I was gonna post my review on Illuminae, but since Empire of Storms just came out, and everyone is sharing their thoughts, I thought I’d join the party 😀

 

Leave a Reply

