Hype or Like Friday | What does a story need to be scary?

Hello everyone!

It’s been a while since I have done a Hype or Like Friday, and I missed out on last week due to my damned internet, but it’s better now. This month, there are so many topics, and it would be a bummer if I only got to do two of them this month, so I’m going to do two this week!

For those of you who don’t know, Hype or Like Friday is a weekly meme that has discussion topics based on a monthly theme. At the same time however, there is also a monthly book that everyone (hopefully) reads and reviews on the last Friday of the month to see if it’s only ‘hype’ or if you actually ‘liked’ it. It’s created by three other book bloggers, Jillian, Larkin and Britt. The link to the Goodreads group is here.

The first topic I’m going with is a Harry Potter related one, because I love Harry Potter and since it’s part of a topic, I couldn’t help but do it. It is:

What Harry Potter house are you sorted with, and do you agree (since I’ve never met anyone who doesn’t love HP

This idea was thought up by Chrissie from https://blogginwriting.wordpress.com/. (you guys should go check her out)

Anyways, I am a proud Ravenclaw! (which means that I totally agree). Image result for new ravenclaw logo?

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t know which of these two logos is better, I like them both in different ways. I have however taken the Pottermore test several times because I can and I have gotten Gryffindor a couple times, and even Slytherin once. I do get primarily Ravenclaw though and I identify with it the most.

What house are you guys in? I’m also a Wampus for those of you that were curious.

The next thing I’m doing, was thought of by Donna at https://chocolatenwafflesblog.wordpress.com/. It is:

“Leave the light on, mommy please” What does a story need to be scary? Are you afraid of real life and realistic stories or does the supernatural aspect do the trick?

Personally, at least in movies, the moment that I see the ‘based on a true story’ label, then it really gives me the creeps. Supernatural aspects don’t really faze me, probably because I’ve encountered so many different stories books and movies alike that I subconsciously know that it isn’t real and I guess I don’t get scared.

I do get jump-scared sometimes, but I don’t count that as being ‘scared’ in that sense – creeped out, spooked etc.

But yeah, true stories are the scary ones to me, probably because that means there is a possibility of it actually happening.

If the story is fiction, again to me the realistic things are the scary ones – and I’m not talking about secret agents, or being stabbed in your own house – while it’s possible in our real world, it is extremely unlikely of happening. Ya know what I mean?

What makes a story scary for you?

Leave a Reply

