Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Review

As the last week of October, it is time for the book review of Hype or Like Friday. This meme was created by three fellow book bloggers, Jillian, Larkin and Britt in which they choose a particular book to focus on for the month, with weekly discussions and a review of the book at the end. You can check the group out here.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

missperegrinescoverDate Published: June 7 2011

Publisher: Quirk

Length: 352 (hardcover)

Source: Bought (paperback)

Links: Goodreads | BookDepository

Summary:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

My Review:

This month on Hype or Like Friday we obviously are reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. Going into this book, I was really excited because the movie looked good, and because all the raving of well known booktuber, Jessethereader (if you don’t watch him, this series is like his favourite series of all time).

To be honest, the start was rather slow, and it only started getting interesting about half way in. I didn’t really want to know much about Jacob’s old life before, because lets face it – it was a very boring and uninteresting life. The last part of the book did get interesting and I began to actually really enjoy reading it.

When it comes to the characters, there really isn’t anything special. Jacob is pretty boring, and doesn’t really have anything distinct about his personality. The other characters weren’t amazing or anything, but I enjoyed reading about them more than I did about Jacob. Adding to that, I found the relationships in the book weird, if anything. Like all the children are really 80 years old, and yet Jacob doesn’t feel odd at all, even with kind of crushing on his grandpa’s ex girlfriend (this isn’t really a spoiler, we all know it’s gonna happen). Also Jacob’s relationship with his father, mother and ‘best friend’ are odd and not realistic at all really, and I couldn’t relate to any of them.

What I did really like about the book was the world it was set it. How the system works – every book has a system of some sort of how that world works, and I liked this one quite a bit. It’s defnitely different, with peculiars, time loops, powers and so on. I want to explore it a bit more, but that’s just the thing – I don’t really feel inclined to read the rest of the series.

While the ending left the end open-ended and almost cliff hangery, as well as the interesting last part of the book, I don’t really feel like reading the rest of the series, because to be honest, this book didn’t feel like anything special, and I wasn’t ‘hooked’ if you know what I mean. Therefore, I have to sadly rate this as mostly ‘hype’ but I guess some of the like is still there.

Use this when the book you've read was all hype.

And, I rate it 3.5/5 stars.

3 thoughts on “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs Review

  1. Jo says:

    I wasn’t expecting to like the book as much as I did. But I can totally agree with you about how boring and dull Jacob was, I couldn’t connect with him as a main character at all, and that puts me off a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

