Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – a Cute read

Carry On
Image result for carry on by rainbow rowellGenre/s: Fantasy, contemporaryish

Date Published: October 6 2015

Publisher: St Martin’s Griffin

Length: 522 pages in the hardcover edition

Source: Borrowed

Links: Goodreads | BookDespository

Summary:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story—but far, far more monsters.

My Review

Okay, going into this book, I had not read Fangirl beforehand. I didn’t actually know that Fangirl was in anyway related to this book until I opened up and started reading it. So, I didn’t read much about Simon and Baz, and thus were completely new characters for me. Now, having read Fangirl, I see why lots of people may have loved this book.

Honestly, the start of this book was long, kind of boring, and slow. I think that it was a bit too long for the plot. It also had several POVs, so that kind of disoriented me a little bit as I kind of got mixed up with who I was reading. Even for a book with several POVs, there was quite a lot of different ones, compared to the two or three that are normally in this type of book. I didn’t really like Agatha’s POV, and Lucy’s confused the hell out of me.

BUT, once you get through the first third of the book or so, it gets better. You start to get to know the characters a bit more, and you start to love them. I especially loved Baz and Penelope the most – but so do like 90% of the people of everyone that’s read this book. I didn’t like Simon as much as I do other main characters, he just didn’t click with me, or have very distinguishable personality traits – maybe that’s just me, I don’t know.

But the main reason why I gave this book 4 stars, was that, the romance was adorable, and cute, and gushy and not to mention the quotes the came with it – absolute perfection. The action started picking up, and the plot began to become more prevalent, and there was action and geez, looking back on it, I couldn’t put the book down.

Another thing, I really loved the writing. I’ve only read two of Rainbow Rowell’s works, but the writing in both of them is blissful and smooth, and it’s the type of writing that goes perfectly with a hot chocolate (or coffe if you are that type of person) if you know what I mean.

The ending wasn’t amazing, but it still fit within the story, and I think it was still cute and a decent conclusion. If I go into any more detail about this book, I’ll probably spoil it for those that haven’t read it, although that is partly because I wrote this review so late after I read the book (I read it a couple months ago..oops) and most of my thoughts are spoilery and gushworthy.

But if you like cute and fluffy stuff, or just like Rainbow Rowell’s other books, I’d say go for this one, especially if you’ve read Fangirl (if you have, I don’t know why you aren’t reading this one already).

Favourite Quotes: (for those who haven’t read the book, maybe you shouldn’t read these..sort of spoilery, sort of obvious)

 

 

‘This is what I deserve’,’ he says.
I shake my head. ‘Well, it isn’t what I deserve.’
‘Then go
.
I see the fire flickering in his eyes, which means it must be all around us.
‘I won’t,’ I say. ‘I’ve never turned my back on you, and I’m not starting now.’

“I just want to kiss him, then go.
‘Simon…,’ I say.
And then he kisses me.”

Now that I look back, most of my favourite quotes involve SnowBaz fluff….oops

But yeah, look out for my review on Fangirl in the coming week!

See ya guys later 🙂

Leave a Reply

