Fangirl Review

Usually, I would be posting a Hype or Like Friday, but since this week’s topic is on New Year’s resolutions and goals, I’ll be skipping it since I’ve already done a post on that.

Fangirl

Image result for fangirl Genre/s: Contemporary

Date Published: September 10th 2013

Publisher: St Martin’s Griffin

Length: 433 pages in the hardcover edition

Source: Bought

Links: Goodreads | BookDepository

Summary:

A coming-of-age tale of fanfiction, family and first love

CATH IS A SIMON SNOW FAN. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan… But for Cath, being a fan is her life–and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath that she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend; a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world; a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words…and she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

Review:

First thing I want to say – the hype is real. I went into this book hoping for the best, because as most (if not all) of you would know, Fangirl is a book plastered everywhere in the bookish community, and at least now I know what it is all about.

When I started reading the book, one of my thoughts was, what exactly is the plot in this book – and thats just the thing – while it may not have a solid plot, things do happen, and you still get hooked and attached to characters. I guess that the book is just relatable, as it goes through the notions and troubles as Cath starts her first year of college.

I really liked this about this book, as it’s refreshing and light, and perfect for when you are in between series and recovering from an epic finale, or when your life is really busy because you don’t have to be too invested in it, or too involved (even though you’ll probably be attached to it because it’s that good). I think one of the reasons why this actually worked is simply because Rainbow Rowell’s writing is beautiful and her style of writing just describes the world like butter. I apologise for my horrible descriptions…but she just tells it how it is without being overly annoying or dense or anything.

Now, the biggest strength of this book are the characters. They are all so relatable, adorable and likeable one way or another, even if you think you won’t like them that much. Pretty much all of them are my favourite characters, especially Cath, Levi and Reagan. Wren annoyed me a little bit, but by the end I still liked her, flaws and all. I think, that these are perfect characters in the sense that, each of them have their own unique personalities, good bits and bad bits, and bad tropes are pretty much non-existent (YES, there’s no love triangles!). This book also tackles the topic of mental illnesses, and while I can not speak from my own experiences, others have said that they were tackled quite well.

However, while for the most part the book is amazing, it is not perfect. Some people don’t like the simplicity of this book, and a lot of people also think of Cath as a Mary Sue. I personally didn’t really mind, and I thought it fit in with the story. This book gave me loads of feels, and made me happy, and thus I give it five stars despite some flaws.

Favourite Quotes

“In new situations, all the trickiest rules are the ones nobody bothers to explain to you. (And the ones you can’t Google.)”

“You give away nice like it doesn’t cost you anything.”

“You look so blindingly cute right now, I feel like I need to make a pinhole in a piece of paper just to look at you.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “Fangirl Review

Leave a Reply

